You can clear a chat thread to delete all messages in a conversation.
Clearing Chat in iOS
To clear a chat thread in iOS:
Open a chat conversation. Messages are displayed in thread view.
Select ⋮ (the menu icon) in the top right of the screen.
Select Clear Chat.
.jpeg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-08-26T19%3A58%3A14Z&se=2026-08-26T20%3A09%3A14Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=Tph%2B6gJ5vw12MI9xZz2wy9ncZ168Xgpk7RVXhopim14%3D)
Select Clear Chat.
.jpeg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-08-26T19%3A58%3A14Z&se=2026-08-26T20%3A09%3A14Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=Tph%2B6gJ5vw12MI9xZz2wy9ncZ168Xgpk7RVXhopim14%3D)
All messages in the chat thread are deleted. The chat remains in your conversation list but with no message history.
Clearing Chat in Android
To clear a chat thread in Android:
Open a chat conversation. Messages are displayed in thread view.
Select ⋮ (the menu icon) in the top right of the screen.
Select Clear Chat.
Select Clear Chat.
.jpeg?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-08-26T19%3A58%3A14Z&se=2026-08-26T20%3A09%3A14Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=Tph%2B6gJ5vw12MI9xZz2wy9ncZ168Xgpk7RVXhopim14%3D)
All messages in the chat thread are now deleted. The chat remains in your conversation list but with no message history.
Note
Chats that you clear are not restored if you reinstall the app. For more information, see Restoring Your Message History After Reinstall.